Soiree - Soiree (Album Of Week 50)

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Soiree Soiree (1979) ( ROADSHOW Records )

Soiree - Soiree
Soiree - Soiree
1) You Keep Me Hanging On
2) Close To You
3) Everlasting Love
4) Do You Love Me
5) Come A Little Bit Closer
6) You Are The Sunshine Of My Life

Featuring the Late Great Luther Vandross Easily overlooked at the time- a rare gem of early developing superstar and almost superstar artists: Luther Vandross, Ron Richardson, Kleeer's Norman Durham and Woody Cunningham, Sharon Redd, Jocelyn Brown, Melvin Sparks and those gorgeous Arthur Clark strings-all dynamically rearranging a host of R&B and POP standards in a Disco/Dance style. Not as corny or limiting as you might suspect- as there is enough genuine genius going on here to rescue what could be seen as a lame disco cash-in and instead turning it into a proto-remixed/reimagined project filled with top musicians~! It all comes across very nicely in that style popularized on the Bionic Boogie albums by mixer Godfrey Diamond and vocal arrangements by Luther Vandross. Don't believe what the credits say, that Luther only sings on one track. He is very much ALL OVER this record- giving the same sort of quality soulful kick he gave to Mascara, New York City Band or Change~!.

A track of this album will be broadcast on The Soul Of Unity show every thursday night from 21:00 till 23:00 (GMT +1) . To request a song from this album for broadcast you can send an This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to the Soul Of Unity Crew.
Buy This CD From Now!

Copyright © 2004 - 2020 SOULANDFUNKMUSIC.COM. All Rights Reserved.